The construction of this palace was originally ordered by King Rama V in 1909 and it was funded out of his own coffers. The construction was completed in 1916 after the death of King Rama V. The palace is pure western style, as the designers, architects and engineers were all German, with the lead architect of Mr. Carl Dohring. The two-storey building is styled after Kaiser Wilhelm's Palace in Germany. The interior is decorated in typical early 20th century Europe style, with the use of porcelain dolls and ceramics, with spiral staircases and a liberal use of local woods.
The palace has been used for many purposes over the years including Boy Scout School and Agricultural Teacher Training College and is now the used as the Phetchaburi National Museum.